Compassion, Trapped – Trapped Compassion

Pimp My Lent/Day 20

The Prompt:

From Karri Anderson…

“In my theatre classes, I give one word prompts for playwriting exercises or improv scenes or whatever.
My two favorites are compassion and trapped.
Sometimes I combine the two–compassionate trap or trapped compassion.”

The Product:

You are there

Where I do not want to be

I am here

where your heart tells you

you would die to be

How did we get here?

How did we get here?

Slogging

Shuffling

Heads nodding like two old horses

Walking side by side the fence line between us

Being led away

Where?

Where from here?

Your nights are endless

Mornings echo

So so so quiet

The ache the ache

That twists tears pulls burns cold

Why?

Why?

Was it worth it

Is it worth it

And what is it do you think?

Perfect stillness?

Or angry hands

slapping  away peeling back anxious fingers

and angry shouting

no off away now

And at last hope leaving

what does the heart say

of us

Were you afraid

Like me

Am I like you

Can love abide

This

How?

About Vicki Caroline Cheatwood

Writerly. Rebooting. Evolving. Searching for great chicken salad.
This entry was posted in Pimp My Lent, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

